Discuss traditional rhythms, singing etc
By James
Someone told me that mendiani's a dundunba the other day, it seemed wrong to me based on that fact that I had assumed that all doudounbas have the same kenkeni and djembe accompaniments?

Famoudou says there are 35 differenct doundounbas.

On my recording of dundunbe from a Famoudoud workshop he says that it's incorrect to call a rhythms doundoundba.

I think bududi was telling me that there is still a family of rhythms called doundounbas though right? I presume that's what there's 35 of.

Anybody know what they are?

I can only think of the below (with much thanks to the back of Hamanagh ;) ):
Dundunbe
tama
bolokonondo
gbunkundo
Tako saba
Kadan
Kuraba don
Takonani
konowoulen
donaba
gberedu
konowoulen 2
demosoni
By e2c
James, did this person say why they categorize mendiani as a doundounba?

(I'm very new to the study of W. African rhythms, but this seems off to me personally... if only because I've been working on Mendiani for a year, and have Michael Markus' recordings of all the different parts as he teaches them, including variations for the doundouns.)
Last edited by e2c on Tue Jun 17, 2008 6:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
By Dugafola
i think depending on where you are and who you ask, you'll get different answers as to what's the proper name of the family of rhythms otherwise known as Dunun Rhythms as per Famoudou. Other djembefolas call them Dununbas. Tomato tomata if you ask me.

i can almost certainly say that Mendiani is not a dununba or dunun rhythm, yet it comes from the same overall family of Malinke rhythms that include Soli, Soko, Kawa, Dununba etc etc.

To add to your list:
Dundunbe or Kon
tama
bolokonondo
gbunkundo
Tako saba
Kadan
Kuraba don
Takonani
konowoulen
donaba
gberedu
konowoulen 2 or Dji
demosoni
fankele
djorro
amaraba
bamekele
soma sangi
tiandian
bada
n'fakaba or donaba 2
balan sonde
gbereduka
bando djeli
nantolomba
damba
kurrisikolon
djeli dunun
konkoba dunun (diff djembe accomps)
By e2c