djembe zoom

For chatting and discussions.
By the kid
Wula has nice drums for 600. The lenge ivory coast drum for 650 looks a bit of a peach. It is gonna be good no matter what wood you choose at that level. Where you are based might lead people to suggesting different shops to buy at.

Drumskulls , wooden roots are other shops in the states

https://wuladrum.com/collections/djembe ... -4607-djhl
Note this drum has a repair and why it is reduced.
What are you playing now?

I recommend playing them in person, but if you can't visit one of the top stores (Wooden Roots in LA, Drumskull Drums in Santa Cruz, and Wula in New York all come to mind) then I'd recommend listening to videos online to get an idea of what different woods and sizes sound like.
Last edited by batadunbata on Mon Sep 11, 2017 5:55 am, edited 3 times in total.
thanks guys, the cassia wood djembe at wooden roots looks kool. someone recommended that to me. i have been playing for about 10 years, not that im that good. but its time to buy a djembe and i only need one
IMO Cassia's the most gorgeous wood (generally speaking), and that one's a real beaut.

Since you mentioned Hare and Djalla, is that because you like the sound or the look?

As for looks, you can't do better. Hare can look amazing too, but it varies a lot.

I had a link to a video of a cassia djembe, but the uploader switched it to private. (not sure why, hope it wasn't dut to my link) There's one on youtube if you search for cassia djembe it'll come up, Namady Keita plays it. Sounds great. Somewhat similar to Djalla and Lenke imo, but a little different.
Last edited by batadunbata on Mon Sep 11, 2017 5:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
You can check also this european shop, located in Berlin: https://www.djembe-webshop.com/Djembes/ ... anguage=en