djembe zoom

Advice and questions on keeping your instruments in top form
By Jayhippy
I only have Ace hardware rope,

Today the first day Iv had off in SIX MONTHS.

I have the rings strung and the skin has bee sitting for TWO YEARS.
It looks ok??? Cost $80!

The only rope I can get in town is from the hardware store.

I am not a professional drummer, I moved to a logging town and there NO DRUMMERS.
It might be even MONTHS before I have time to play so I am a noob novis :dundun:
Even though I own a $500+ 16 inch wide monster drum with a $80 Drum skulls skin,

So can I get by with cheap rope? Its $20 for 100 foot.

It does have a core at least!

3/8" dia. x 100' length
Braided poly-pro
To be used for tie downs, camping, and general household uses
Rope is braided construction
Resists rot, mildew, oil and many other chemicals
Made of 100% Polypropylene
Assorted colors
Attachments
pACE3-960674enh-z7.jpg
pACE3-960674enh-z7.jpg (52.97 KiB) Viewed 1064 times
By michi
This rope is way too thick. You need something in the 4.5 - 5 mm range (about 1/5th of an inch). You can order suitable rope online from Drumskull (among other suppliers). I'd recommend to do that. This way, you'll get something that'll work, instead of having too much stretch or being too weak.

Cheers,

Michi.
By Jayhippy
woops, that is not the rope. Its the same but 4mm. Not the larger one.

But 4mm is now to thin?

Do you know any low cost rope on ebay?
Drum skills, great store but very expensive.
By michi
4 mm is on the thin side, but usable. 4.5 mm to 5 mm is ideal. Note that these are nominal measurements only. One manufacturer's 4.5 mm rope may be as thick as another's 5 mm rope.

Typical price per meter is around $0.35 - $0.50. I think Drumskull are near the upper end of that range.

Cheers,

Michi.
By shortypalmer