A place for teachers to discuss issues to do with teaching
By Carl
Something I've been mulling over for a few months...

I came across a list of jazz tunes compiled by asking 4 or 5 jazz teachers the following question.
"what 100 tunes would you assume someone would know at a gig" (assuming you have never met them)

Each of the 5 teachers had a slightly different list, but they all had the same 10 - 20 core songs in their list.

I have a few students who have been playing for quite a while, but they all seem to have the weakness of only "knowing" the current tunes. Usually 3 - 5 tunes in their current setlist. I've gotten it up to 10 tunes for a show, but they focused on "their part" and not so much knowing all of the parts for each tune.

So my question for the forum is this:
'If you were responsible for making sure someone knew at least 5 tunes, what 5 tunes would you "make sure" that they knew?'

To rephrase, what are the 5 "most important" tunes for someone to learn, assuming that they are a serious student.

to clarify, I am not saying which are the 1st 5 "beginner" tunes. For example, I would put Soli-Rapide as #1 because it is important culturally, and fairly easy, however I would also feel compelled to have Dunungbe in the list as well, because of the importance of that style in my personal history of the music.

Here are my 5 (I am still developing this, so my answers might be different tomorrow):
Soli as above
Dunungbe as above
Kasa because of it's relevance to farming/music for work
Soko/Solidesmanian because of the djembe solos (not sure if I'd pick one over the other at this point)
Zaouli because of the breaks.

so my bias is mixed between History and technique.

Your thoughts?
C
By djemberay
I've thought about this too. At times my core has centered around dance classes. It seems like there is a pretty common core of class dance rhythms that folks (here in the US at least) tend to know and dance. Off the top of my head:

- Soli Rapide
- Mendiani