Tell us a bit about yourself. What you're into and what dreams are etc...
By ternarizator
Hi djembefolaw

I'm Vincent, from France, 47 years old.

My job is mathematics teacher, but I have been interested in music since 1972.

I studied music theory for more than 11 years and trumpet for 10 years.

After a while playing in local bands, I discovered northwest-african rhythms and instruments like darbuka, tbila, bendir, guellal, and also microtiming through practicing gnawa's qarqabs, since 1988.

I then have been studying mande music since 1994. With a few friends, we play in a djembé-dununs orchestra since 1996. We also play music for a class of african dance every thursday since 1997. I'm the soloist (not a very good in my opinion, but it works...)

As a follower of the scientific approach, I can't help but look for the why and how of everything, so I have developped some hypothesis about ternarization (from quaternary to ternary in particular), microtiming, mande rhythm families, technical birth of clave-patterns and related bell-patterns, building of djembé accompaniments from complete patterns (like bbttbbss for example) etc...

In my band, we play traditional rhythms, but also modified ones (mostly by ternarization or "unternarization", but also by changing one part to enrich the melorhythm....)

One of my goals in participating in this forum is to share my ideas about mande music and receive opinions of other djembefolaw about them, in order to refine (or even refute) my approach.

So far, it has been a pleasure to read and share in this forum, I hope it will continue for a long time!..

Vincent.
By djembefeeling
Yes Vincent, welcome to the forum!

I am looking forward to your informed opinions and hope I can keep up to them...

jürgen

p.s. nice to have more french guys on the forum. you are so deep into the djembe in France, when hearsay doesn't deceive me. So many good guys from West Africa, too.
By ternarizator
Hello again !