Discuss drumming technique here
By Loveablesurfer
Hi Folks! I'm new to the forum but not new to drumming. I'm a self taught percussionist (mainly from books or watching people), I've been told of three different kinds of slap for the djembe. I'm curious as to which one is actually a proper/traditional djembe slap or does it differ from region to region.

The first variation I learned from a djembe book, it's essentally hitting the rim with the tips of the three middle fingers, with the underside of the top knuckles lining up with the edge of the rim. (Gives a good variety of closed slap sounds depending where the other hand mutes the drum).

The second variation I've learned from watching online videos and is essentially the same as an open tone but with the fingers relaxed and spread. It does make a bit of a different sound but not as distinctive as hitting the rim (as described above).

Finally the third variation (which I always thought was a Conga technique) which is to hit the drum with a curved hand and cup the air as the hand strikes the surface. This definitelt gives the loudest closed slap "pop".

My guess is the second variation is the correct one, but I find it the least distinctive from an open tone. I am aware that my general playing style is more on the cuban style than proper afro style (so I ain't a proper djembe player). I'd just like to learn more about the traditional way of playing it.
By Legba
I prefer (insert, however I am the last one you should take advice from).
The slap for me is a tone with the fingers relaxed, but not really spread apart.
If you put your hand flat on the desk, this is the tone position from the start of the fingers forward. If you look at the hand with the computer mouse in it, you notice the natural (relaxed) hand is curved and the fingertips are all that would be touching a flat surface, for me this is the slap.