Discuss drumming technique here
By djembeweaver
I read the the same post last week and got thinking about rudiments and the djembe. Looking at the list of 40 or so snare rudiments it is surpising how few are applicable to djembe.

Indeed, years ago, when I first became aware of paradiddles (and became aware that I was rubbish at them) I started practicing them. Over the years I come back to it every now and then because I think it develops control. The thing is I never practice enough to really get good at it because the technique does not exist in any phrases I've learned on djembe. There are other techniques, just as challenging, that occur regularly on the djembe that are more important for me to master.

Apart from the obvious difference between stick and hand there is another important difference between djembe and snare: Bass, tone, slap. This increases the complexity of even simple techniques exponentially and means that any 'rudiment' is rendered meaningless without good tone-slap differentiation.

So while paradiddles etc might be good practice for coordination, more important 'rudiments' on djembe might be things such as:
Code: Select all
ttsttsttstts
...and:
tsstsstsstss
...and:
t.st.st.st.st.s.
Other contenders might be different types of roll and polyrhythmic / polymetric pulses.

I have often wondered what the 'rudiments' would be if djembe were subsumed into the western classical system.

Jon
By michi
In general, I think that pretty much any rudiment you do will help to improve dexterity, stamina, and timing. Having said that, many of the drum kit rudiments don't really translate all that well to the (traditional) djembe. In particular, double strokes with the same hands are rare.

But there are djembe exercises (or rudiments, if you prefer) too. Every teacher I've had has his share of pet phrases for warm-ups and the like. They are designed to build stamina, timing, speed, and dexterity much like drum kit rudiments are.