Discuss drumming technique here
By Onilu.BR
Hi, people!! I am a begginer student of the malinke rhythms, djembes, dununs.... and i will do a beginner question! What are "Rolls"? As i live in Brazil, roll can have another name here in my contry as on others too....
By davidognomo
here in portugal, we call it "rolamentos". but the rest of the guys can expain it to you in a more clear way. Basicaly it's when you have a group of notes that are played in a row and very fast.
By Onilu.BR
Davidognomo, can you post a video of a roll/rolamento here please?
By michi
Onilu.BR wrote:Hi, people!! I am a begginer student of the malinke rhythms, djembes, dununs.... and i will do a beginner question! What are "Rolls"? As i live in Brazil, roll can have another name here in my contry as on others too....
A roll is a sequence of three or more notes that are spaced 1/16th bar or less apart.

Here is a video with plenty of rolls :)

Michi.
By davidognomo
at 05:09 you have a very long roll, alternating tones and slaps. That's a roll.

As Michi pointed out, it could be just a 3 note roll. It has that "trrrrrrrrrr" feel.

you get it?
By Onilu.BR
Thank you guys! Is there any specific techinique to do a roll, mainly these long rolls? Any good exercises?
By Waraba
Start slow
By Waraba
Speed up one tick at a time on the metronome. how long have you been playing djembe? Stay relaxed, don't let muscles cramp. also really you gotta learn the accompaniment parts. Do you have a teacher or group you play with?
By Onilu.BR
I am studying djembe about 1 year. Before play djembe, i had bebb playing congas, atabaques for 3,4 years. Me and some friends get material from internet, and some instrucional dvds and we play and study together. I had some classes, but here in Brazil malinke culture isn't very known yet.. only in the beggining, not many good teachers!
By michi
It takes time. Expect to play several years to reach a moderate level of competence and knowledge. You just can't hurry this stuff…