Need Help? We help each other here...
By gottadrum462
Hi there! Any body have any exercise tips for playing with your non dominant hand? I started playing in May and now that I'm hooked and comfortable, I've been working on my technique. I keep struggling with trying to get my left hand to do what comes naturally to my right... I practice playing the same beat, alternating hands, but as soon as I try to pick up the tempo, or add onto it, I lose it. :doh:
By Beerfola
I found my dominant hand is actually what slows me down when the tempo increases. It's just not as loose as the hand I don't use as much. The muscles tense up. Focus on relaxing and not tensing. Shorten your stroke and eliminate excess arm movement. Anticipate when you are going to execute a fast extended roll, take a deep breathe in and exhale during the roll.
You can try isolating your hand from your arm at the wrist and practice your stroke. Place your wrists on the back of a kitchen chair and play "air" djembe. If possible isolate the back or topside of your wrist in the same manner (under a hand rail or some such) and practice. This will limit your arm movement and help to shorten your stroke. Then isolate at the elbow, the object being to relax your shoulders and remove them from the equation. And then just stand and play air djembe. Without the resistance of actually hitting the drum you will build your djembe muscles.
Perhaps a bit extreme but you asked. It's difficult to transfer energy into your playing without tensing up but relaxing is really the key. Breathe. Your muscles need air and when they fatigue they tense up.
One tactic I have used is playing the same note with both hands at the same time, not a flam, not alternating, but simultaneously. So, both hands would produce a slap at the same time, or a tone at the same time.