[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 583: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 639: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Mahogany from Bali for Djembe? - Djembefola - Djembe Forum

For chatting and discussions.
By Nodrog
Hi there,

I am brand new on here as of today. I have just ordered a mahogany djembe from Mother Rhythm. It has a 15" head and is approx 26" tall and has 3 rings. When I asked for more info I was told the style of drum was based on a type from the Ivory Coast but the wood used was from Bali. I am a complete novice and so I am not expecting or needing a fantastic drum at this stage but I was wondering the difference between African mahogany and Balinese mahogany.

Thanks for any info, Gordon.
By Dennis103
I have come across a few Indonesian 'djembe's'. I put it in inverted comma's because many would not consider them equal to african djembe's. The ones I've seen are lathe turned and very light weight and quite pretty. Whether the wood is mahogany, I have no idea. Often the skin is too thin, with too few ropes, too wide rings and very hard to tune to a correct pitch. However, for a beginner I think they are quite OK.

Happy drumming,
Dennis
By Nodrog
Hi there,what a nice, sunny Friday.