Externally rotating the wrist for slap. Bad habit?

Discuss drumming technique here

Externally rotating the wrist for slap. Bad habit?

Postby jeremyjenks » Mon Oct 17, 2016 7:49 pm

I know that the slap technique has been discussed ad nauseam, but I could not find my exact question so here it goes. I've been playing pretty consistently for about 4 years and my technique is actually sounding better then I ever thought it would, but I'm still working on improvement. I had been doing the slap technique in pretty much the same position as the tone, but with the fingers more relaxed. Recently, almost by accident I have discovered that if I turn my wrist just a little towards the pinky side when doing the slap it sounds cleaner to my ear, sharper. I feel it in my finger tips more, and less in the palm with my index finger knuckle hitting the edge with less force than my pinky knuckle. The only reason I question myself is that the slap was initially taught to me as coming straight down into the drum, making equal contact with everything from the pad of the hand all the way to the finger tips. I know there are always different paths to achieve the same result, but also I would rather not develop bad habits that I have to correct in the long run.Thoughts? Thank you!
jeremyjenks
Djabarafola

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Externally rotating the wrist for slap. Bad habit?

Postby davidognomo » Mon Oct 17, 2016 8:55 pm

there are some djembefolas that do that. If I got it right you mean something like Bangaly Bangoura, Amara Touré and Abou Cobra Camara do.

Check these guys out on youtube. They're great djembefolas.