Does anyone know this site?

Need Help? We help each other here...
djembefola.com logo
 

Does anyone know this site?

Postby stratosphy » Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:14 am

I'm trying to buy my first djembe and I foubd this site (for europe) :
http://www.djembemoves.com
Has anyone bought from this site or have an opinion? Is it safe?
stratosphy

 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 12:55 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Does anyone know this site?

Postby michi » Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:51 am

I haven't heard of them. But, looking at the web site, they are at least selling the real thing.

Their Guinea drums look quite good. If you can afford it, and you are serious about playing, that's the kind to get. But then, it's not necessary to buy a top-quality drum when you are starting out. No matter what you buy now, if you get the bug, it's pretty much a certainty that you will buy several more djembes over the years anyway. There is no such thing as "the one drum".

The Ghanaian djembes are the typical kind you get from Ghana, made from Tweneboa wood. It's a medium-density wood, so the shells have quite thick walls in order to cope with the tensioning force. These drums can sound quite good. They will never be as good as a Guinean shell, but they aren't bad either. If you are on a budget, a Ghana djembe is a reasonable compromise for a beginner.

I recommend to get a 34cm model or, if your budget doesn't stretch that far, a 30cm one. Don't go smaller than that, otherwise you'll end up with useless toy.

Their shipping charges look reasonable to me too.

Cheers,

Michi.
User avatar
michi
Moderator
 
Posts: 2981
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:40 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Blog: View Blog (21)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest






Feedback

Translate this page using Google