Peruvian Festejo and African N'Gri/Kirin/Wassolonka

Need Help? We help each other here...

Peruvian Festejo and African N'Gri/Kirin/Wassolonka

Postby cote » Sun Jan 29, 2017 2:02 pm

Hi Guys,

I'm new in the forum. My name is Cote Calmet and I'm a musician/drummer from Peru. I'm currently doing a master about connecting a Peruvian Rhythm called Festejo to an African rhythm called N'Gri/Wassolonka/Kirin.

After listening to examples and comparing the Claves, notes, patterns and history I have realized that N'Gri has to be the great grandfather of this rhythm. The only thing I'm missing in my connection between this two rhythms is some history of the N'Gri rhythm itself, would anybody know where to get this history? or would anybody be able to know some history?

Thank you very much and hopefully, some of you can give me a hand :)

all the best,

Cote
cote

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Peruvian Festejo and African N'Gri/Kirin/Wassolonka

Postby michi » Mon Jan 30, 2017 12:16 am

Welcome to the forum, Cote!

There was a previous discussion on N'Gri here: jun-jul-2014-ngri-f71/cultural-info-t5224.html

You may find some of that useful.

Cheers,

Michi.
michi

Blog: View Blog (22)

Postby Michel » Mon Jan 30, 2017 5:45 pm

Wow Cote, that's interesting! Hope you can proof the connection between n'gri and the peruvian rhythm. Keep us informed!
Michel
3 ksing ksing

Postby korman » Tue Jan 31, 2017 8:47 am

If two things sound similar, does not mean one is derived from another.

Wassulun is a region in soutwest Mali, quite far from the sea. Slaves were brought from coastal regions of Africa through Hispaniola, Cuba and other transit points to Peru. So it is quite unlikely that large group of people from Wassulun ended up playing music together in Peru.